Transferring an active domain entails changing the registrar company that handles the domain registration service, so after the transfer, you will have to manage things like renewal fees or DNS updates through the new domain registrar. The transfer procedure is standard with most generic and country-code Top-Level Domain extensions. Certain country-code extensions are more specific and involve different steps, but in the general case transferring a domain involves several basic procedures and one of them is unlocking the domain name. The domain lock is a safety feature, which is being embraced by more and more registry operators. It’s a default feature supported by all generic Top-Level Domains. If a domain is locked, it will be impossible to initiate a transfer process, so no one can even attempt to take your domain name. The domain lock can be removed only through the account where the domain is registered in the first place and all new domain names that support this functionality are locked by default when they are registered.
Registrar Lock in Shared Hosting
If you buy a shared hosting service
from our company, you will be able to administer all domain names registered through us using our Hepsia Control Panel and you’ll be able to unlock any of them with just a couple of mouse clicks. All registrations will be listed alphabetically in the Domain Manager section of the Control Panel and for each one of them you’ll notice a mini padlock sign. Clicking on it will show you the present security lock status. If the domain name is locked and you want to transfer it away, you’ll just need to click once more and you will be all set. Locking a domain is just as easy and since the domains are administered in the very same place as the web hosting account itself, you will not have to sign in and out of different admin panels.
Registrar Lock in Semi-dedicated Servers
If you have registered a domain through us and you want to transfer it away, you can quickly unlock it through the exact same Hepsia Control Panel, which you use to manage your semi-dedicated server
account. All domain name registrations will be shown alphabetically in your account and you will see a mini padlock icon on the right side of each domain there, provided that its extension supports the registrar lock feature. You can see whether the domain is locked or not by clicking on this icon and change the current status by clicking on it once again. You can then go ahead and start the transfer procedure straight away without waiting for the status to be changed on WHOIS lookup websites, as the change will take effect instantly without you or us having to do anything else.